What A Difference A Year (Doesn’t) Make

It’s been a long time since I wrote anything on this blog. Not that I haven’t been writing. In fact, I’ve been working just about every day. I’m revising a novel that I hadn’t looked at in years because an agent expressed interest in it. Which I guess proves that you should never give up on anything you write.

But in the time that I’ve been so busy, I did miss something. An event that the typical blogger would have celebrated with a countdown, give-aways, guest bloggers, party hats and confetti (virtual, of course).  My blog-iversary.

That’s right. At the end of March, I passed my one year anniversary with this blog.

I didn’t even notice. I am such a bad blogger.

Looking back, I had certain expectations for this blog.

I was going to post regularly. If you look at any list of rules for success at writing a blog, they all say make and keep to a schedule. My plan was to post weekly on Thursdays. I did that sometimes. The Thursday thing, I mean.

I was going to write about writing. But as I bounced around the blogosphere, I found that there are so many — SO many — blogs about writing, and I just didn’t feel like I had much to add. Does the internet really need yet another blog post on the use of the comma or eradicating the passive voice? I don’t think so. Instead, I have written about movies and TV and music; I have written about what I read and see and experience in the hope that it will connect with others out there on a more personal level.

Which leads me to what I did accomplish:  connecting with other writers. Through blogging, I have built virtual relationships with people whose opinions I respect and whose advice I value as strongly and as deeply as if they were members of a writing group I might meet up with at the local coffee shop. This is the true power of the internet; this is its gift to writers.

So as I move into my second year of blogging, my vision of what I am doing has changed. Overall, I am happy with what I’ve done so far. I’m tickled that the most hits I’ve gotten so far came via the search term “slutty dress.” I’m proud that a ninth-grade reader shared “Teen Girls and Tight Corsets” on her Facebook page. And most of all, I’m delighted with the people I’ve met out here.

Here, have some confetti. Yippee!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What A Difference A Year (Doesn’t) Make

  1. Wayne E. says:

    Congratulations! You hit the nail on the head; the best thing about blogging is connecting with other writers. I now have blogger-friends around the world, from Australia to Turkey. I’ve been doing a new post, six days a week, since 2009. (I am the creator of a cartoon about the writing life, Bo’s Cafe Life.) Honestly, there have been times when it was hard to stick with my six days a week schedule. What kept me going? The writers who read and make comments on my blog.

    Again, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

