Today’s The Day!

April 11, 2017.

Release day for FINDING KATE!

I’ve been waiting for this day for literally my whole life (and, yes, by literally I mean literally). Other than going to England, publishing a book is the only thing I’ve ever wanted so badly that I wasn’t going to give up until I did it. And believe me, it would have been so much easier to forget the whole thing.

It would be nice to think that the work is over, now that KATE is out in the world, but it’s not. Now I have to make sure that my little book finds readers.

This is where I call upon you, my friends, my blog readers, my Twitter buddies, my companions on this journey to publication. Help an author out.

There are three simple things you can do:

BUY IT: I hate to ask. It’s crass. But sales are important to the book’s success and also to the chances of this turning into a series, not just a one-off. You can get it at Amazon or Barnes & Noble. And hey, Mother’s Day is coming up soon… I’m just sayin’.

REVIEW IT: Once you’ve read it, go back to the site where you bought it (and maybe a couple other places too) and take a few minutes to write a review. You don’t have to write a high school paper analyzing the themes, symbols and motifs; just a few sentences about what you liked (I mean, hopefully, you’ll like it). Buyers looking for their next book rely heavily on reviews, and authors rely on readers to write those reviews.

TALK ABOUT IT: Tell everyone you know that your friend (or your cousin, or your friend’s cousin) wrote a novel and you heard it’s awesome. If your aunt loves historical fiction, if your dad loves Shakespeare, if your co-worker loves medieval history, tell them about this book. Request a copy at your local library, and if you’re in Colorado, tell them it’s by a Colorado author — often, they’ll put out displays of books by local authors. Ask your book club to read it and I will join you for the discussion (via Skype or FaceTime if you’re far away; right now, my promotional budget does not include airfare for book clubs). Word-of-mouth is critically important to a book’s success, and I’m counting on you, readers.

Thanks for being here with me through the writing, the hoping, the waiting, and now, the publishing. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

