Big News!

Cue the trumpets! Pop the champagne! Toss the confetti!

I have signed a publication deal with City Owl Press for my debut novel, FINDING KATE, a historical romance based on Shakespeare’s “The Taming of the Shrew.”

Let me say that again.

I have a deal. My debut novel is coming out next year.

I am going to be a published author.

*falls over*

As I described in a post way back when I first started this blog, I wrote this novel because I was inspired by a Colorado Shakespeare Festival production of the play. I wrote the first draft in three months, faster than I’d ever written a complete novel (that was before I did NaNoWriMo). Unhampered by my usual concerns about what-comes-next, moved by characters who were so vivid to me, I wrote with a confidence I’d never experienced before.

I knew this was something special. I believed in this story, and most of all, I believed in Kate herself. I knew the world was waiting for her to tell her side of the story.

They say nothing worth having ever comes easily. In reply, I would point out that I sent out queries for my last novel — the one that almost got published — the week before my daughter was born and now she’s about to start college, and therefore “easy” isn’t a word I’d use to describe this journey. But there were lessons to be learned along the way, and precious friendships made as well, so I am not complaining. Not at all.

I made it. I found City Owl Press and they found me.

I’m going to have a published book in my hands next year.

Somebody pinch me.

(Oh, and before you go, you can head back up to the top of the page and “like” my author page on Facebook. Because I have an author page on Facebook now. 🙂 )

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Big News!

  1. jefffrant says:

    Yay. I look forward to hearing more when we hang out on campus this Fall.

  2. Congratulations! It’s always good to hear that a hard working writer has inked a deal! It sounds like a book I’d like to read. I’ll add it to my reading list on Goodreads! OMG, you’ll be able to have an author page on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

