August Blogging Challenge: Day 30 – A Youthful Celebrity Crush

Oh, this one is so easy!

It’s Shaun Cassidy!

The Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries TV show began in 1977 and in pretty short order, they ditched Nancy Drew and focused on those young hotties, Frank and Joe Hardy, played by Parker Stevenson and Shaun Cassidy, respectively.

In elementary schools across America, best friends had to divvy up the boys. You couldn’t both like the same one; someone had to give in or the friendship was OVER.

Luckily for me, my BFF Lynn loved Parker Stevenson and his bright blue eyes.

I was partial to Shaun Cassidy and his bright shiny smile.

So we were good.

The writing of the fan fiction (not to mention the acting out of many episodes at home and on the school playground) could now commence, with us in the roles of Frank and Joe’s plucky, adorable girlfriends.

I subscribed to teen magazines Tiger Beat AND Tiger Beat Star in order to receive the maximum number of articles and pin-up photos. No joke. Check out the deets on this June 1977 Tiger Beat mag. I totally had that Hardy Boys “centerfold” up on my wall. Notice the headline:  “Rollers: Will They Ever Tour Again?” They’re talking about the freakin’ Bay City Rollers, man!

In 1977, Shaun Cassidy released his debut album. It was an album — vinyl — because that’s all there was, kids. Here’s the cover, which I remember like the back of my hand because I stared at it for hooooouuurs.

Come on, wasn’t he just adorable? And his first single was “Da Doo Ron Ron.” Has a more harmless little ditty ever been sung?

Perfect for pre-teens everywhere.

Later that year, he released yet another album, “Born Late.” He explained that the title came from his feeling that he had been born too late, that he really belonged in an earlier era musically. Like rat pack or something. (I didn’t have to look that up; I just remember it. I was sooooooo in love.)

Here’s a Youtube video of him performing on one of those late-night music shows that used to be how musicians promoted their music before there were music videos or the Internet. I cringe when I think of how I swooned over this. Jeez, just look at the bell bottoms and the scarf. What’s with the scarf?

The music, the performance, the clothes, the pandering to the teeny-boppers:  it is all so lame, he must feel ill every time he even thinks about the fact that he made a living — no, he made a fortune — doing this.

But then again, he’s got that fortune, right? Or at least he did. Who knows what he’s got now.

I recovered pretty quickly from this pre-teen passion. Star Wars came out in 1978, the same year as his next album, Under Wraps, and I never even bought that one. Soon Lynn and I were reciting every line of dialogue from Star Wars.

And then Star Wars spawned the copycat TV show “Battlestar Galactica” which had new hunky pin-ups for our walls…

OK, your turn. Who was your first teen idol crush?

This entry was posted in Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to August Blogging Challenge: Day 30 – A Youthful Celebrity Crush

  1. mabelgygi says:

    What IS with that scarf? Count me in the Parker Stevenson fan club. I’m sure he never wore a scarf like that. HA!

    p.s. Michael Jackson adorned my bedroom walls in the tween/teen years.

    • My friend Lynn hung on to Parker Stevenson a lot longer than I hung on to Shaun Cassidy. I’m a one-guy-at-a-time kinda girl. Parker got written into our Battlestar Galactica fan fiction so she had two hot guys to flirt with. She was trouble at 12, I tell you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

