August Blogging Challenge: Day 28 – Selfie!

Today I’m supposed to post a “selfie” but not being a teenage girl with a cell phone, I don’t have a bunch of those at my disposal. I do have a favorite photo of myself, though, which is saying a lot, because I generally dislike the way I look in pictures.

There’s a story with the photo, naturally.

I’ve mentioned that I’ve been to the U.K. exactly once, and it was one of the best experiences of my entire life. The itinerary was London, York, then Edinburgh, and then back to London for a couple of days before the flight home.

Now, we splurged a little on our London hotel and stayed at the Park Lane overlooking Green Park. It is a beautiful hotel, built in the 1920s, with a definite elegance in every touch. The pillows were so deep you could drown in them. The bathroom had a towel heater and a giant sunflower-style showerhead. It was that kind of hotel.

When we returned to London, we got to the hotel before the room was ready. They were very apologetic, and they asked if we’d like to have some tea in the Palm Court.

Would I?

We took some seats in this lovely, comfortable reception area. In a short while, a tea cart was wheeled over by a well-dressed waiter, and an honest-to-goodness silver English tea service was placed on the table in front of me:  one pot of hot water, another for tea, beautiful translucent china cups and saucers, loose tea leaves and a tea ball, dishes of lemons and sugar cubes and oh my gosh I don’t even remember because it was all so unbelievably perfect.

I was having English tea, served by an English waiter, in a beautiful English hotel in London. At the tail end of the best trip of my life, having visited English and Scottish castles and ruins and pubs…

So this is the result. Pure English joy:

Tea at the Park Lane Hotel, October 1996

Tea at the Park Lane Hotel, October 1996

This entry was posted in Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to August Blogging Challenge: Day 28 – Selfie!

  1. mirkabreen says:

    Wonderful photo (you’re lovely too, not just the hotel) and the tea looks so comforting.

  2. mabelgygi says:

    I love this story and the photo, but I must admonish you to have more pictures of yourself. Your kids (and their kids) will thank you!

Leave a Reply

