August Blogging Challenge: Day 24 – Learn Something New

The prompt for today is:  Learn something you know nothing about and share five facts.

It’s hard for me to come up with a topic that I don’t know something about.

I’m not trying to brag here. I’ve talked about my memory:  once something is in there, it sticks around for a very long time, and for the most part my retrieval system works pretty well too. But a lot of credit also has to go to my parents, both teachers, who saturated our family life with educational opportunities the way that most families are saturated with fat (don’t worry, I got plenty of that too). Museums, restoration villages, farms, science presentations and planetariums, hands-on activities, books everywhere in the house and more at the library, and PBS on the television. Plus, I love learning stuff, so I just know a lot.

So I went to my daughter. She’s into some stuff that I’ve been actively trying to avoid knowing about for years now. Like Homestuck, and manga, and K-Pop. Today I turned off my “I really don’t want to hear this” filter and we talked about Homestuck. Here’s what I learned:

1) Homestuck is a web comic by some guy named Andrew Hussie. You can find it here, but if you want to start, you’d better set aside some time, because apparently, it’s the equivalent of something like 5,000 or 6,000 pages of text. That’s like committing to read George R.R. Martin’s “Game of Thrones” series “A Song of Ice and Fire” from the beginning.

2) The story is told in a multi-media fashion, with .gifs, text, comics, and videos. It has been going on for several years and will come to an end in the next year or so.

3) Essentially, there are four human characters who play a video game that unleashes Armageddon and destroys our universe. Turns out, this video game has been making its way around because there are some trolls (grey humanoids with horns) who show up at some point who had created OUR universe while playing this game in THEIR universe, destroying their universe in the process. They now live on a meteor and are trying to get the kids not to play the game so they don’t destroy everything. Oops, too late.

4) Anyone who plays the game can achieve God Tier (a kind of “level up”) by dying on their Quest Bed. Once they are God Tier, they can only die in a self-sacrificing or just way. The four original humans playing the game have all achieved God Tier and have really cool powers, the details of which I will spare you.

5) PBS’s Idea Channel compares Homestuck to James Joyce’s “Ulysses.” Seriously. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLK7RI_HW-E

This didn’t get me to love Homestuck or get why my daughter loves it.  It still seems really silly and pointless. But I got to be with my daughter for an hour and hear her talk about something she loves. What better way to spend an afternoon? 🙂

This entry was posted in Blog Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August Blogging Challenge: Day 24 – Learn Something New

  1. mirkabreen says:

    I owe you for this one, because I, too, have a kid who’s into this web comic. I don’t have your encyclopedic memory, (I wish!) but I did manage to not-want-to-know-much about it, and you and yours have done me the favor of offering it in a somewhat distilled and absorbable way.

Leave a Reply

