August Blogging Challenge: Day 18 – Bucket List, 3 Things Done

JSYK, I am not feeling great today. I took a long nap but still can’t shake this feeling of energy draining out of my pores.

Today and tomorrow, I’m supposed to share with you items from my bucket list. Today I’ll give you three things that I’ve done. I’m defining a bucket list as things that if you were lying on your deathbed and hadn’t done this thing, you’d regret it.

1) I got married and had kids. I think that’s self-explanatory.

2)  I went to England. I have loved England since children’s literature like Pooh and Paddington drew me in with comforting differences in their way of life:  tea time, nannies, kings and queens and changing-of-the-guard-with-Alice. Then there were the BBC dramas I grew up on that addicted me to the accents in all their varied glory. And King Arthur by fourth grade, and the springboard into history and battles and knights in shining armor… I was hooked forever. For my thirtieth birthday, my husband gave me a trip and the freedom to plan it. Working within our budget and time limits, I chose London as our base, then north to York and Edinburgh by train. I could write you hundreds — no, thousands — of words about that trip. I remember ever minute. It was the best thing I’ve ever done. I wish I could go back. Now. This minute.

3) I moved out of the New York area. Although I’m still a New Yorker in a lot of ways, I don’t like a lot of things about it. I always wanted to live somewhere closer to nature and less driven by money. I know it sounds corny to talk about “quality of life” but that was important to me and my husband, especially once we had kids. And I have to say, we’ve never been happier than since we’ve been in Colorado.

This entry was posted in Blog Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to August Blogging Challenge: Day 18 – Bucket List, 3 Things Done

  1. mirkabreen says:

    Super thumbs up to your bucket-list. Hope you feel better soon.

  2. Laura S. says:

    I second Mirka’s “thumbs-up”. Colorado is a wonderfully inspiring place and nothing beats raising a family, at least IMHO. =)

  3. Pingback: August Blogging Challenge: Day 28 – Selfie! | A Writer's Notepad

Leave a Reply

