August Blogging Challenge: Day 5 – I Wish I Did This Well

Today’s prompt in the August blogging challenge is “something you wish you did really well.” Like most people, there are many things I wish I did well, but these are stand-outs for me:

1)  I wish I could dance. I mean really dance. Anyone can go out there and bop around on the dance floor or hang on to their boyfriend/husband and sway to a slow song. But to dance:  to leap and fling your body around to African rhythms; to move with a group in a highly choreographed Broadway number; to flirt with men in frockcoats in a Jane Austen-era country dance; to glide around the dance floor Fred-and-Ginger-style… Oh hell, I’d settle for my arms and legs being able to communicate in the same language. I took a dance class in college and learned some of the basics of movement. I also learned that I can either control my lower body or my upper body, but not both at the same time, and that my powerful memory does not really extend to my muscles, and that good dancers are not frantically counting, “1, 2, 3, 4, oh crap!” the whole time.

2) I wish I could play an instrument. This one sits at the intersection of perfectionism and laziness. I am too lazy to give an instrument the practice it needs to attain any degree of proficiency, and I am too much of a perfectionist to bear with the mistakes I have to put up with along the way. Plus, of all the languages in the world, the language of music is too bizarre to me. I understand it up to a point — I get the whole A-B-C thing and I can tell you that that note on that line is an E — but when we start reading actual music it means nothing to me. It has no grammar, no syntax, no words that I can grab onto. I think it’s because it’s numerical. At least, I’m going with that. Numbers are a language I do not speak.

What about you? What do you wish you did well?

This entry was posted in Blog Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to August Blogging Challenge: Day 5 – I Wish I Did This Well

  1. mirkabreen says:

    *SING*
    Sigh…
    I do it. All the time. Badly.

  2. Very good question!!! I never thought of what I wish I could do better but after some thinking I decided that I need to work on my cardio fitness…

  3. Pingback: August Blogging Challenge: Day 25 – A Recent Dream | A Writer's Notepad

Leave a Reply

