August Blogging Challenge: Day 1 – All About Me

I haven’t been blogging as much as I wanted to when I first started out, and I haven’t been blogging regularly either. I am disappointed with both of these things. So when I saw that my friend The Tudor Tutor is participating in a blogging challenge set up by blogger Natalie Grueninger for the month of August, I didn’t let myself think too much about it. I told myself, “You’re going to do this.” I silenced the whiny voice that said, “It’s too much work. I don’t have time. I won’t have anything good to say. I can’t be witty and charming and delightful on demand like that. Whine whine whine.”

Of course it’s a lot of work and it’s challenging and I definitely won’t be witty and charming and delightful on demand; who is? But I’m going to do this, just to prove to myself that I can.

So bear with me. Some of what follows may be drivel. But let’s try to have some fun, shall we?

The challenge for Day 1:  The story of your life in 250 words

I was born on Long Island in a middle-class suburb of New York City where everyone was of European descent. I grew up equally familiar with pizza and knishes, with Christmas and Hanukkah. My brother and I used to take the train into New York City on weekends to shop in the Village. One of my favorite places in the whole world growing up was the observation deck of Two World Trade Center.

Like so many kids from Long Island, I attended the State of New York university system. At SUNY Stony Brook, I studied history and met the love of my life. We moved to New Jersey because that was where his first job was. As we drove out to find an apartment, we passed signs that said “Deer Xing” and fields of sheep and cows, and this suburban girl wailed, “Where are you taking me?” But we found life-long friends out there among the farms.

We married in 1990 and had two children. I went to Rutgers Law School in Newark; that’s a whole story in itself. But our dissatisfaction with the pressures of the north-east lifestyle — ever acquiring more stuff; always comparing car brands, house size, whether you have a nanny even though you stay home full time — gnawed away at us until we decided to escape. In 2006, after much research and soul-searching, we relocated to the outskirts of Boulder, Colorado, and we have never been happier.

Although I do miss the pizza.

This entry was posted in Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August Blogging Challenge: Day 1 – All About Me

  1. mabelgygi says:

    Great start Maryanne! I look forward to a month’s worth of your stories and wit.

Leave a Reply

