TAG: A Moment In Time…

My friend, writer Katharine Owens, tagged me in this fun blog post that’s going around.  Here are the rules:

Search for the words “moment,” “forever,” or “time,”  in your work-in-progress, pick your favorite excerpt, post on your blog, and tag others!

This was interesting from the learning standpoint:  I used the word “time” so much that Word told me there were too many results to show in the search box.  When I changed the parameters to “whole word only” that brought it down to 109 from 132.  By page 27, I had used the phrase “from time to time” twice already!  Yikes!  Editing still needed here!

Here’s my excerpt from “Finding Kate,” an adaptation of Shakespeare’s “The Taming of the Shrew” set in 1485 England.

I became uncomfortably aware of the closeness of our bodies:  the heat of him, on such a warm day. I straightened up, moving back, moving away.

“Do you mock me, sir?” I demanded.

“Do I?” he replied.

I bit back the words that sprang to my lips – he was a gentleman, and I was supposed to be trying to make a favorable impression – and instead dipped my head and curtsied quickly.  “If you will pardon me, sir…”

He waited a moment, just to show me he could, I suppose, before allowing me through. I scurried by him, a mouse past an indulgent tom-cat, and rushed up the stairs. As I went, I fought the urge to turn back and see if he were still looking at me. Because it felt like he was.  But I dared not risk knowing that he was not.

For more fun, I’m tagging four amazing “J’s”:  Jennifer BertmanJami Gold, J. Anderson Coats, and Jeannie Mobley.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TAG: A Moment In Time…

  1. Oooh, gives me chills. I know I’ve said this, but I LOVE the way you build tension– especially this kind of romantic tension– in such subtle ways.

  2. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the tag! I have all of 1000 words written in my WIP so far, so I didn’t have much to choose from, but I still wanted to play. 🙂

    This excerpt is as raw as raw can be since I just started writing it. LOL!

    Heat ignited under Kira’s skin, singeing a path toward her wrists. Despite the pain, she resisted pulling back her long sleeves or gloves to check the damage. The answer was always the same.

    The dark tattoo-like lines weaving across her body had spread. Eff’ing A. Soon, the tribal marks growing like vines would reach the end of their journey, and then she’d be out of time.

Leave a Reply

