“Falling For Hamlet” Launch Party

I am totally thrilled and excited and dancing around for Michelle Ray, whose YA novel, “Falling For Hamlet,” hits bookstores today.  I am heading out later to buy it and I can’t wait to sit down and devour it, to see what she has done with this, the greatest achievement of English literature (hey, no pressure). 

I have to admit, I have a personal interest in how she does, being the author of a Shakespeare adaptation myself.  I want to see her book soar.  I want to hear great reviews, I want to see it hit record sales numbers.  I want parents buying it for their kids, I want kids passing it on to their friends. 

I want Shakespeare to be awesome.  Epic.  Ninja. 

I think he can do it. 

I can’t wait to see what Michelle has done to help bring it about.

Join the celebration over at the Emu’s Debuts blog:

http://emusdebuts.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/five-four-three-two-one-blast-off-the-launch-of-michelles-falling-for-hamlet/#comment-1060

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Falling For Hamlet” Launch Party

  1. Chrissy Prisco says:

    This is interesting because I didn’t know a modern adaptation of Hamlet was being released and so far, it’s my favorite Shakespeare play.

    • Hamlet is my favorite tragedy as well, and Twelfth Night is my favorite comedy (although I pretty much have Much Ado memorized thanks to Kenneth Branagh’s film of it). I can watch Hamlet again and again. A real treat was watching Branagh’s Hamlet (4+ hours) with the commentary… like a master class. Yes, I’m that strange.

      I can’t believe they still make HS students read Romeo and Juliet as their first Shakespeare. Really? Really?

      • I would say that Hamlet and R&J are the plays most commonly adapted into YA novels. My favorite Shakespeare adaptation (other than mine, of course) is “Enter Three Witches” by Caroline B. Cooney. Heart pounding, even when you know how it ends.

  2. Chrissy Prisco says:

    That’s something I’ll look into and I know! Romeo and Juliet just isn’t impressive to me.

Leave a Reply

