Light and Round (Not Dark and Edgy)

Last weekend, someone denounced the young adult genre as rife with sex, violence and depravity and as inappropriate for its target audience. 

This naturally (and as intended, I’m sure) roused the ire of readers, writers and editors, all of whom rallied to the defense of their embattled genre.  

Rather than rehash the whole argument again or try to address it in my own way, I’ll just offer this: 

A talented writer and blogger named Jennifer Bertman has created The Light and Round Project over at her blog.  You can read all about it (and her thoughts about the whole YA gloom-and-doom thing, plus links to some of last weekend’s blog crossfire) there.  Her goal is to establish a collection of reviews of YA books that demonstrate the breadth and depth of this wonderful genre.  I will definitely be participating, and I hope you will too.

Right off the top of my head, of course, I would submit the sublime works of Madeleine L’Engle whose books are so suffused with light, love and faith that the word “dark” would simply slide off of them and squelch in a puddle on the floor.  Those books have no edges.  However, those are “classics” so I have to bring myself into the last five or six years.

I can’t even begin to count how many great “light and round” books I’ve been reading.  I hope you will help out by submitting your favorites to me (here in the comments) or directly to Jenn.  

Thanks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Light and Round (Not Dark and Edgy)

  1. Thanks so much for spreading the word! I’m looking forward to hearing the books you have in mind. And I totally agree with Madeleine L’Engle. 🙂

  2. Julie Musil says:

    What a great idea! I’ll tweet this and visit the blog. Thanks so much for letting us know.

  3. Chrissy Prisco says:

    Honestly though, as a young adult, I don’t look for books with no edges that are light and round nor ones that are strictly edgy and dark .. I most enjoy a mixture because those are the ones that are most relatable to life

Leave a Reply

