Road Trip Wednesday: Who Should Narrate Your Audio Book?

This week’s Road Trip asks, who should narrate your audio book?

My current novel is a reimagining of Shakespeare’s “The Taming of the Shrew”, so my immediate thought was, Kenneth Branagh.  Because, you know, Ken and I are BFFs who hang out every Saturday night talking Shakespeare, drinking cider and ale in a British pub.  Wait, that’s only in my mind?  Really?  Oh, man!

But seriously, wouldn’t that be awesomely cool? 

My second thought though, was that the book really should be read by a woman, since the story is told from Kate’s point of view.  Dame Judi Dench is the queen of Shakespeare, but I don’t think she’d be believable as a nineteen year old. 

Hmmmm.  British actress, young enough, deft with language, great with relationship chemistry…

No question.  Emily Blunt.  

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.
 
We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Road Trip Wednesday: Who Should Narrate Your Audio Book?

  1. Kenneth Branagh… sigh. My brother met him in London – so jealous. Great choices! And good luck with the querying!

  2. GREAT choice– she is so amazingly cool. She is stylish and she could totally carry off that saucy Kate persona. Have you seen Young Victoria? It was good!

    • I loved her from the moment she said “I’m one good stomach flu away from my goal weight” in “The Devil Wears Prada.” She was fabulous in “The Young Victoria” and I went to see “The Adjustment Bureau” almost exclusively on the strength of her and Matt Damon as actors… and I was not disappointed. Love her!

  3. Nisha says:

    I like Emily Blunt but I also think Kate Winslet makes quite a good Shakespearean actress as does Kate Beckinsale (hey, both are KATES too!). I love Beckinsale’s voice. I listened to an audio version of Romeo and Juliet once were she was Juliet and I thought she was just wonderful.
    For my own collection of short stories I would personally choose Alan Rickman or Sir Derek Jacobi. Yes, I know both men are like, a million years older than me but they have the sexiest voices ever!

  4. Alan Rickman could read me the phone book. And I’ve loved Derek Jacobi since I watched “I Claudius” on PBS – I think I was twelve? (OK, so now you know how OLD I am — almost a million years older than you too!) That production also had Brian Blessed (one of Kenneth Branagh’s go-to guys), John Hurt and Patrick Stewart, more incredible actors with really great voices…

  5. Ellen says:

    mmmm, british accents ❤ er, I mean… what? <.<

Leave a Reply

