To Blog or Not To Blog…?

So, I have the feeling I may not be doing this right.

I’ll get an idea, something I want to talk — I mean, write — about, so I’ll head over to the computer.

I open a Word document that I have been keeping for about three years now.  It’s full of ideas for blog posts.  I was really clever.  I figured that when I did get a blog, I’d have lot of material saved up.

I call that document “Not A Blog.”  See, no pressure.  It’s not a blog.

That’s where I’ll start drafting my new idea into a blog post.  Even though I have a blog now, I don’t usually draft on WordPress itself.  I write in Word, edit, revise, polish and then copy it over when I’m satisfied that it is ready.  That I am ready.

Yeah.  See, I think I’m missing the point.

Not that I want to put shoddy, unpolished work out there.  I don’t.  But I’m fairly certain that blog posts aren’t supposed to be aged like wine.  Or cheese.

Mmmmm. Wine and cheese.

So I’m challenging myself at this very moment.  I’m writing this on WordPress and I’m going to publish it when I’m done.  Later, I will go back to my cozy “Not A Blog” file and rescue that polished piece from its purgatory and send it out into the world, but first I want to do this.

To confront my own fears and limitations. 

To force myself to be uncomfortable. 

Please tell me I’m not the only one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to To Blog or Not To Blog…?

  1. Patricia says:

    Hmm. I just write something, then hit the button. That’s why I enjoy blogging.
    When I write stories, however, I polish and polish and change and rethink before I send them to the publisher. I worry. I don’t have to worry about blog posts.
    Yet, you’re probably not the only one. And even if – so what? it makes you special 🙂
    Just enjoy!

  2. tssharp says:

    Good idea. I write mine straight in, but hit the ‘save draft’ thing half way through or when I’ve done, using the ‘preview’ function to check it. Then I publish it when I’m happy. That way you can be kind of stream of consciousness and edited at the same time, kind of…

  3. See, I just edited my own comment. I think I’m hopeless. *sheepish grin*

  4. Mabel says:

    Yahoo! Yes, sit in the discomfort, Maryanne! I am so proud of the step you took today, and, you know what, you are OKAY.

    By the by, when I was blogging, I used the “sleep on it” strategy that tssharp described. Save Draft makes me feel better; Not A Blog would allow me a little too much sleep.

  5. Nancy Sima says:

    You may edit your blog posts but I still can’t help editing my e-mails. My husband laughs at me. I guess we’re always striving for that one good sentence.What do they say…to be a writer, you gotta love the rewrite 🙂

    • Absolutely right, Nancy! I think I told you in my email, I’d rather revise than write the first draft.

      And aside from the interruptions from my kids, you don’t want to know how long it took me to write this reply!

  6. Ondrew says:

    You are not the only one. I’ve got ideas drafted in MS word, Apple pages, emails and WordPress. I’ve come to the point where I’m doing more drafting in WordPress than the others. I usually do a brief draft on one day then return a few days later to expand. Once I get on a roll I try to finish the post.
    http://canadacheeseman.wordpress.com/

  7. n0b0dyz says:

    I’ve just started blogging (does one post make me a blogger?) My sole post so far is an essay I wrote in the mid-90’s. As I was re-typing it (it was 4 computers ago), I was correcting, re-arranging, polishing. I kept it as a draft for 2 days, fixing it. I am trying not to look at it now that it’s published, because I’ll find more changes/corrections. If only I was that fastidious in my housecleaning 😉

    • As someone who has only a hanful of posts to my name, I can say that a single post ABSOLUTELY makes you a blogger! Good luck and welcome!!

      I am far too fastidious in my housekeeping, in that once I start, I never finish. Which is why I never start and my house is a mess. 🙂

  8. Svea says:

    I have been blogging for a year now and I would have to say I do what you do, except via bogger! I constantly have saved drafts in the “edit posts” section that only contain a brief topic of what I want to expand upon. Of course, before I post, I revise it over and over, waiting for that “ahh, it’s done” feeling… but then I end up re-reading it a few times after it posts, just to be sure =o)

    Have fun with all your cleaver topic ideas! I look forward to seeing what they entail 🙂

Leave a Reply

