Welcome to my blog!

Welcome to my blog.

Let me tell you what this is not.

This is not one of those “One Year In The Life Of Me” blogs where the person commits to doing something for a year and blogs about it, clearly hoping that someone will publish the blog.  I am not making my way through a cookbook, or living “green” (without toilet paper – have you ever heard of anything so disgusting?), or living “biblically,” or reading the entire dictionary (although if anyone would like to pay me to do that, I would.  Oh hell, I’d do it for free).  Blogs are not books nor should they be, any more than Sunday comics are feature films.  They are different forms of communication with different styles and different audiences.  If you want to write a book, write a book.  Don’t waste your time blogging it.

This is also not a “Super Mommy” blog, although I am a mom and I do have a lot to say about the subject.  But I’m not going to regale you with stories about my wonderful children and how perfect they are.  I’m not going to tell you how blissful it is being a stay-at-home mom (SAHM in the parlance) and how I’ve never been more happy and fulfilled; on the flip side, I’m not going to bitch and moan at how repressed and depressed I am, describing my descent into alcoholism.  I am all of those things (except a burgeoning alcoholic) at various times.  Motherhood is complex and fascinating, and there’s plenty to say.  You can be my Facebook friend and hear more about that and see pictures of my kids.  They are pretty terrific and they are absolutely gorgeous.  But that’s not what this is about.

What this will be is a discussion of interesting topics related primarily to books and writing, specifically my own experience of writing and attempting to publish my work.  I pay attention to what I read and to what is going on in the publishing world, partly because I love books and I love studying them, and also because I am determined to be published one day.  I am trying to figure out what gets one person published while another person (ahem, me) gets so close she can taste it…but ultimately ends up rejected. 

I also adore TV and movies, so there will certainly be occasional posts about those, especially as those media connect to books and the craft of writing.   

I am throwing this out into the universe.  This is my leap of faith, my new adventure.  Where it will lead, I don’t know.  I hope it will open conversation with new friends as well as old, and I hope it may lead to new opportunities.  I know it will be fun.

Welcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome to my blog!

  1. Yay, Maryanne! Welcome to the blogiverse. I hope you enjoy your stay 🙂 I look forward to reading more.

  2. Cedric says:

    Wonderful first post. All the best!

  3. Jeff says:

    Looking forward to more witty and wonderful reading..

  4. Becky says:

    This is going to be GOOD…!

Leave a Reply

