Abundance, or A Good Problem To Have

I have so many books to read right now, it’s making me a little giddy.

I was having a slow time for a while, where I really had nothing that grabbed me and said, “Read me! Right now!”

Now I have an abundance of books vying for my attention like a flock of hungry children, but unlike a bunch of children, they are quiet and only in my mind. Whew.

A few weeks ago, I went into the library to drop off a book. While I was walking in, there was “Sisterland” by Curtis Sittenfeld out on the new books display. Score! I enjoyed “American Wife” and had read great reviews of “Sisterland” so I snatched this one up. I had to finish up another book before I began, but I started it about a week ago and just finished it today. Great story; very true and honest voice.

About two days into reading “Sisterland,” I got the notice that my hold of “Elizabeth of York” by Alison Weir was in at the library. As I have adored this Plantagenet princess since I was a teenager and have struggled to write a novel about her for — no kidding — about twenty years, I am thrilled that she is suddenly getting lots of attention. I want to devour this biography, almost literally. I want to mark it up and sticky-note it to death. So, clearly, I will have to own it. Nevertheless, I’ve been reading these two side-by-side, although I’m slowing down on the Weir because I know I will own it.

Then, on Saturday, my BFFs Chris and Becky and I went to the Denver Art Museum to see the “Passport to Paris” exhibition which showcases French art from the 1600s through the Impressionists of the 1800s. Swoon! We spent about twenty minutes in a room full of Monets, and another twenty minutes or so in a spot where a brilliant Van Gogh self-portrait hung beside a Renoir painting of Monet in his garden, next to one of Monet’s water lilies. *pick up jaw from floor* Becky and Chris both said that their experience of the exhibit was heightened by having read “Sacre Bleu” by Christopher Moore. Since Chris loaned me that book probably a year ago, this was the push I needed to pick it up. Finally.

Also last week, I won a book in a blog contest. “The Pursuit of Mary Bennet” is a post-“Pride and Prejudice” tale of the Bennet sisters focusing (naturally) on Mary. I’ve always felt bad for Mary and thought she deserved redemption, and with this novel, fellow Colorado author Pamela Mingle has done just that. Plus, I won it. Gotta read it, like, NOW!

Oh, and last Wednesday, my book club had our annual holiday party and book swap. Oddly enough, I picked “Sacre Bleu” out of the pile, but then someone stole it from me, so I snatched Vanessa Deffenbaugh’s “The Language of Flowers” from someone else. And I really want to read that right away too.

Add this to “Tower” by Nigel Jones, a history of the Tower of London, which I bought at Costco a few weeks ago when I was feeling upset (in lieu of a giant bag of chips – kudos to me for spending more and eating less!), and Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein” which has always fascinated me but I’ve never read so I moved it upstairs back around Halloween-time…

You know, I always like to read an average of a book a week. But with this many good ones, I’d like to put aside everything and just read a book every day.

Do you think I could get away with it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Abundance, or A Good Problem To Have

  1. mirkabreen says:

    My pile of to-be-read next to my bed is growing and showing no sign of reversing course. definitely a good problem to have, though.

  2. mabelgygi says:

    Yes! (at least for a short time). Give yourself permission to “vacate” this holiday season & read a book a day.

Leave a Reply

